Fast facts

$3 to $17 per dollar

Comes from each dollar invested into Early Childhood Development.

Quote of the month

The inclusion of children with disabilities in society requires first a change of perception, a recognition that children with disabilities hold the same rights as others, that they can be agents of change and self-determination, not merely the beneficiaries of charity, that their voices must be heard and heeded in our policymaking and programmes.

Anthony Lake, UNICEF Executive Director

Mission

Present in Uzbekistan since 1994, UNICEF has worked tirelessly to ensure that the nation’s youngest citizens can thrive in a caring, supportive and nurturing society. In accordance with its official mandate, UNICEF has advocated to guarantee that the rights of Uzbekistan’s children are protected, that their basic needs are met, and that they have every opportunity to reach their full potential. 

UNICEF is guided by the Convention on the Rights of the Child and strives to establish children's rights as enduring ethical principles and international standards of behaviour towards children.

Through its successive programmes of cooperation, UNICEF has assisted the Government of Uzbekistan at central and local levels to address issues related to the rights and well-being of children and their families, in partnership with civil society organisations, parliament, communities, youth, mass media, and both multilateral and bilateral development partners. 

National priorities


UNICEF’s priorities in Uzbekistan have included ensuring the health and well-being of mothers and children, through the introduction of international standards of maternal and child healthcare, the promotion of best nutritional practices including food fortification and exclusive breastfeeding, and the integration of HIV prevention, care and support services into the national health system. 

UNICEF has also worked to guarantee that every child in Uzbekistan can develop, learn and grow in a supportive environment. To achieve this goal, UNICEF has worked to improve the quality and efficiency of basic and preschool education, and to protect children from all forms of abuse, from unnecessary institutionalisation, and from harmful contact with the nation’s legal system.

UNICEF has also supported the government in strengthening policies to reduce the impact of poverty on children and families, to improve state coordination systems for monitoring, reporting on and implementing child rights, and to enhance disaster preparedness and build a culture of safety and prevention at a local level.

To ensure its success in the above areas, UNICEF in Uzbekistan utilises a Communication for Development (C4D) approach. By communicating directly with project beneficiaries on a community level, UNICEF has worked to promote desired behaviours related to child survival, development, care and growth. 

The country programme of cooperation


The current Country Programme of Cooperation for 2010-2015, developed and utilised by UNICEF and the Government of Uzbekistan, is designed to ensure the protection of the rights of every women and child in Uzbekistan. The programme is designed to achieve both national priorities and Millennium Development Goals in this field, in accordance with both the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC), and the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW). 

The Country Programme focuses on two major areas. Firstly the programme works to improve the quality of basic social services, specifically in the areas of maternal and child health, nutrition, HIV/AIDS, education and child protection, with a focus on the nation’s most vulnerable children. Secondly the programme works to strengthen the national social policy for implementing and monitoring child rights, by both enhancing systems for analysing data at national and sub-national levels, and promoting evidence-based decision making. 

The Country Programme works to achieve its objectives in Uzbekistan on national, sub-national and community levels. On a national level the programme aims to strengthen social policy and systems management, on a sub-national level it aims to reinforce partnerships with local governments in order to identify regional gaps in child services, and on a community level it aims to empower both service providers and families to promote and support positive behaviour development and change.

Цифры и факты

От 3 до 17 долларов

возвращается с каждого доллара, вложенного в развитие детей младшего возраста.

Цитата месяца

Каждый ребенок имеет право на здравоохранение, образование, равенство и защиту. Обеспечение чистой питьевой воды – ключевой элемент реализации этого права

Мартин Могванья, заместитель исполнительного директора ЮНИСЕФ.

Миссия

Работая в Узбекистане с 1994 года, ЮНИСЕФ неустанно стремится к тому, чтобы молодые граждане страны могли расти и процветать в заботливой и поддерживающей их среде. В соответствии со своим официальным мандатом ЮНИСЕФ выступает за гарантию прав детей Узбекистана с целью обеспечения их потребностей и защиты, а также для предоставленяи всех возможностей для реализации их потенциала.

ЮНИСЕФ руководствуется Конвенцией о правах ребенка и стремится сделать ее положения незыблемыми в качестве этических принципов и международных стандартов в отношении детей.
Посредством последовательной реализации программ сотрудничества, ЮНИСЕФ оказывает поддержку Правительству Узбекистана на республиканском и местном уровнях в вопросах, связанных с правами и благосостоянием детей и их семей. Эта работа проводится в партнерстве с общественными организациями, парламентом, обществом, молодежью, средствами массовой информации, а также с многосторонними и двусторонними партнерами по развитию.

Национальные приоритеты


Приоритетные направления ЮНИСЕФ в Узбекистане включают в себя обеспечение здоровья и благополучия матерей и детей путем внедрения международных стандартов по охране материнства и детства, продвижения лучших практик питания, включая обогащение пищевых продуктов и исключительное грудное вскармливание, а также интеграцию профилактики ВИЧ-инфекции, ухода и поддержки в национальную систему здравоохранения.

ЮНИСЕФ также работает для того, чтобы гарантировать благоприятные условия для развития, учебы и роста каждого ребенка в Узбекистане. Для достижения этой цели ЮНИСЕФ проводит мероприятия по улучшению качества и эффективности среднего и дошкольного образования, а также по защите детей от всех форм жестокого обращения, помещения их в специализированные учреждения, конфликта с национальной правовой системой.

ЮНИСЕФ также поддерживает Правительство в деле укрепления политики для улучшения состояния детей и их семей, координации систем мониторинга и отчетности по реализации прав ребенка, и повышения готовности к стихийным бедствиям для обеспечения безопасности на местном уровне.

Для обеспечения успеха в вышеуказанных областях ЮНИСЕФ в Узбекистане использует подход, основанный на коммуникациях в целях развития. Общаясь непосредственно с бенефициарами проектов на уровне сообществ, ЮНИСЕФ работает для продвижения позитивных поведенческих практик, связанных с выживанием, развитием и ростом ребенка, а также по уходу за ним.

Страновая программа сотрудничества


Текущая Страновая программа сотрудничества на 2010–2015 годы разработана и реализуется совместно с Правительством Узбекистана, и направлена на обеспечение защиты прав всех детей и женщин в Узбекистане. Программа предназначена для достижения как национальных приоритетов, так и Целей развития тысячелетия в этой сфере, в соответствии с положениями Конвенции о правах ребенка и Конвенции о ликвидации всех форм дискриминации в отношении женщин.

Страновая программа ориентирована на две ключевые сферы. Первое — улучшение качества базовых социальных услуг для детей и женщин, то есть услуг, относящихся к таким сферам, как охрана здоровья, питание, профилактика и лечение ВИЧ/СПИДа, образование и защита детей. Особое внимание уделяется детям из уязвимых групп. Второе — усиление социальной политики для реализации и мониторинга прав ребенка путем укрепления национального потенциала, анализа данных на национальном и суб-национальном уровнях, а также продвижения принятия решений, основанных на доказательствах.

Страновая программа осуществляется для достижения целей в Узбекистане на национальном и суб-национальном уровнях, а также на уровне общин. На национальном уровне программа направлена на укрепление социальной политики и системы управления, на суб-национальном уровне — на укрепление партнерских отношений с местными органами власти в целях выявления пробелов в оказании социальных услуг для детей, а на уровне общин — на расширение возможностей как систем оказания услуг, так и семей для продвижения и поддержки развития позитивных практик и изменений.